MARK OLSON Many Colored Kite
Many Colored Kite
BUY NOW iTunes Amazon



1. Little Bird of Freedom
2. Morning Dove
3. Many Colored Kite
4. Bluebell Song
5. Beehive
6. No Time To Live Without Her
7. Your Life Beside Us
8. Scholastica
9. King Snake
10. Wind And Rain
11. More Hours


release date: 07.27.10

 Many Colored Kite

Out July 27, 2010

Mark Olson, founder of legendary Americana band The Jayhawks and a critically acclaimed artist whose influential catalog spans 25 years, will be releasing his new full-length, Many Colored Kite, on Ryko Records on July 27, 2010.
Ruby Marchand, Head of A&R for Ryko, says “Mark Olson is a truly iconic American singer/songwriter and Ryko is honored to welcome him to our family. On Many Colored Kite, Mark reveals himself in a new way. The affirmation inherent in his lyrics and his keen sense of melody make this album a deeply pleasurable experience.”

Many Colored Kite
is the follow-up to his 2007 personal milestone Salvation Blues, a soul-searching album of loss and change that further cemented Olson’s reputation as one of the true heroes of the folk/roots scene. The album was a New York Times Critics pick and received rave reviews for its autobiographical, often painful songs.

It’s a hopeful Olson that greets the listener on Many Colored Kite, with its earthy, neo-folk feel that encompasses classic and ‘60s British folk as well as the “desert country” he’s been associated with in the past.  Produced and engineered by Beau Raymond (Devendra Banhart, Little Joy, Mark Olson and Gary Louris) and featuring the core group of Olson, Neal Casal and Danny Frankel, this is a wide-eyed, uplifting album with soaring, ethereal harmonies contributed by his girlfriend and musical partner, Ingunn Ringvold.
The opening track, “Little Bird of Freedom” (with backing vocals by Jolie Holland), sets the tone of the album:  these are songs by a man who’s made it through the eye of the tempest and is looking at the world as if he’s seeing it for the first time.  Elsewhere Many Colored Kite’s airy, uncluttered songs celebrate life and nature (“Wind and Rain, “Morning Dove”) and love (“Blue Bell” and “No Time to Live Without Her,” featuring Vashti Bunyan).

Says Olson of his new label: "When I hung up the phone after I heard that Ryko wanted to put out my album I went out onto the porch and started a small dance that was interrupted by a large gem and mineral collection. I realized I didn`t really want to be building a geology museum anymore I wanted to start a band again. I threw the petrified wood and geodes off the porch and into the sand. I called Ingunn and said ‘You’re the band and now let's leave our jobs and be able to take the trains again and tour with this music.’"